Sjr: See Jane Run

Sjr: See Jane Run, by Legacy Reims is a book I had been meaning ever since I had run into Ms Reims in the blogosphere a while back. Her real name is no secret. Her real name is Lissette Reina and she has been a good friend of mine for a few years. On Amazon, I gave the book three stars out of five. Certainly out of no offense to her. For the most part, the only people who have even read it thus far are friends who know her from the blogosphere and friends who know her from outside the blogosphere. Lissette pours herself out into both the main characters in the book and I actually think it is a genuinely great read if one wants to know about her. I wanted to break the cycle of saying the book was great because you’re my friend. I have a high respect for Lissette and I think she deserves an honest review of her book so I decided to give an honest review of her book.

She’s a beauty but she gets that a lot. She’s also a very smart, young woman.

It was not her intention, evidently, to write the book. She apparently wrote the book about five years ago for her own husband. It was rather interesting that it now ends up published and she can claim to be a published author. Sadly, her husband passed away prior to the book’s release so he never got to read it. But Lissette has left an impact in the authorship world for her friends in the blogosphere who know her and her friends from outside the blogosphere. Did I think the book was great? Yes, I gave it three stars but I truthfully thought that reading it was quite worthwhile because she is my friend. I do not think it was really her style. Her husband was the one who inspired it to be a psycho-thriller where a woman describes her kidnapper and rapist to a total stranger and how this has impacted her life since. For survival, she agrees to be her rapist’s pseudo-lover even going so far to obey his every order. It really touches on the depths of morality. I think one of the major elements I received from reading it, was this challenge about ethics and morality in the world.

I’ll admit, Lissette and I don’t always see eye-to-eye but in terms of justice, I think we line up a little bit more. We introduce the main “villain” as Tom Laughlin and he is on death-row for his rape cases. It is unclear how he was caught since his victim describes how he was able to keep avoiding the law for some time. How long? No one knows for certain. But Legacy rejoices at this. A murderer and rapist who has done horrible things to women is going out for good. It is a very pro-death penalty argument. In terms of moral philosophy, I would contend that the death penalty is the result of one surrendering their humanity in total. I don’t think we should seek revenge but I don’t think the purpose of the death penalty ought to be vengeance.

In this sense, the viewing of Laughlin as a sick, unforgivable man did genuinely disturb me on an ethical basis. It is a devolution of our humanity away from it’s imago dei and a drift toward total and complete godlessness. In our society, we have wars breaking out because people choose to hate each other and hold grudges. One thing our corrupt society does need is forgiveness and love. I’m not saying I disagree with Ms Reims’s perspective that Laughlin should receive the death penalty. I think Laughlin surrendered his imago dei and subjected himself to godlessness and toward non-existence already and that the death penalty reveals this in a sacramental sense. What I am saying is that Ms Reims is certainly going down Laughlin’s path when she herself goes in and starts to dehumanize him. While Laughlin is dehumanizing himself, he is also attempting to dehumanize others. Society becomes infected by a single bad man.

There’s a lot of interesting issues concerning ethical and moral implications in this book that can be touched upon as well as even the theories about the different character connections as well. I think Lissette did a wonderful job in writing this book and as I read it, I really actually took into consideration much of the ethical and moral implications. I hope I can encourage her to write more books in the near future. Even if I don’t always give them more than three stars.

About newenglandsun

A student. Male. Passionate. Easily offended. Child-like wonderer. Growing in faith, messing up daily.
This entry was posted in Confession, Eschatology, Philosophy. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

